The Science Thesis Blog: Procrastination got worse not better

I’ve been lazy. I was nearly sticking to my deadlines till I decided to come to Malta.  That’s the closest place I’ve got to home – I’m a nomad and I’ve never truly felt home anywhere in this world (closest places are scenes of natural beauty with people I love, China, Germany, Edinburgh, Malta, Dubai, Libya, all have touched me).  Malta has got my parents and old friends.  I’ve learnt many things, which friends I was closest to and were most special to me. How I’ve changed since I left Malta four years ago. How my parents have changed. How I love the new house – I can actually go for walks and take pictures of beautiful things: http://www.flickr.com/photos/38042871@N08/4244958081/in/photostream/.

I’m enjoying the return and it’s teaching a lot about myself.

This is all me, me, me, me what about thesis, thesis, thesis? Ha! 3 weeks after I was meant to start and this is the only week I’ve managed to actually get some work done.

Materials and methods: 90% done, 1st draft (Francesca – the post doc who rescued my PhD – suggested a lot of changes so I had to notch it down from 100% to 90% – I hadn’t been slacking off that much!)

Mitochondria Chapter: 70% ready.

Figures for all Chapters 60% ready.

Meeting deadlines: 1 month late…

A month a whole bloody extra month. I’m pretty pissed off with myself. Will that provide motivation, will I finally sit down, switch of twitter, facebook, msn, skype, emails and get cracking on it. Hardcore cracking, that’s What i’m referring to. Will power! That’s what I need, but how do you force yourself to do something you do not want to do. Now that’s something to ponder. Or is it another desperate attempt at procrastination?

ED

2 comments
  1. Sometimes it helps if you can convince yourself you *do* want to do it really! Remind yourself why you’re there, try to remember the things you like and care about and how they relate to your work?

    Good luck man!

    • edwardduca said:

      Thanks mate, ehh some good advice. 🙂 Thanks again 🙂

Leave a Reply

